The Transitional Administrator has today announced the seven National Commissioners for the Commission for Reception, Truth and Reconciliation, following the recommendations of the Selection Panel:                

Rev. Agustinho de Vasconselos

Aniceto Guterres Lopes

 Isabel Amaral Guterres

Jacinto das Neves Raimundo Alves

Jose Estevao Soares

Padre Jovito Rego de Jesus Araujo

Maria Olandina Isabel Caeiro Alves

The new National Commissioners, who will be responsible for establishing the Commission and managing all aspects of its work, will be sworn in before the Transitional Administrator at a public ceremony on 21 January in Dili. 

They will undertake an oath to conduct their duties in an independent, impartial and non-discriminatory manner, and will pledge to promote reconciliation, national unity and peace. The Commissioners are tasked with implementing the objectives of the Commission, namely to establish the truth about human rights violations between 1974 1999, to facilitate community reconciliation, and to provide recommendations to the government. 

After a short period of orientation, the Commissioners will undertake the immediate tasks of appointing an Executive Director and senior staff, reviewing the financial situation of the Commission, and deciding on a short-term work plan for the Commission. Early in their term, the Commissioners are also expected to travel to the districts to interview potential Regional Commissioners, which will also be an opportunity to meet the community.              

The Selection Panel has also made additional recommendations to the Transitional Administrator, including the possible formation of an Honorary Advisory Council to provide guidance to the Commission, and the appointment of Special Assistants to provide technical and operational support.

For further information, or to arrange interviews, please contact Lamartinho de Oliveira (Mobile: 0408 731 103) or Jane Alexander (Mobile: 0407 976 935) at the Interim Office of the Commission in Balide.

Home Background Mandate News Documents Funding Commissioners Glossary Search


Copyright 2001 Commission for Reception, Truth and Reconciliation in East Timor